6 Best Bitcoin ATM Operators in 2026
The best Bitcoin ATM operators in 2026 compared on locations, buy and sell support, published fees and limits. See CoinFlip, Bitstop, Coinme, Coinhub, Byte Federal and Localcoin.
Tested and reviewed by Jonathan West · Updated July 19, 2026
Choosing a Bitcoin ATM operator comes down to physical kiosk locations, whether an automated teller machine (ATM) supports selling crypto for cash, and how each company structures its fee schedule. At PipeFlare, we found that several operators publish no fee figure on the pages checked, and some show the rate on the kiosk screen before cash goes in. This comparison reviews six networks based on published physical footprints, asset options, daily verification caps, and transaction charges as of Oct 2026.
See why Bitcoin ATM fees run high before you pick a kiosk
CoinFlip
Best for: Best for network size and buy-and-sell kiosks
CoinFlip operates a network with over 5,500 ATMs that support both buying and selling crypto with cash. The brand reports serving over 500,000 customers globally, listing active quotes for coins like BTC, ETH, LTC, SOL, and XRP. CoinFlip Preferred offers buy, sell or swap by bank transfer with an OTC manager.
Strengths
Over 5,500 ATMs with cash buy and sell capabilities
Multi-asset support including BTC, ETH, LTC, SOL, and XRP
FinCEN MSB registered and NMLS #1975146 credentialed
Limitations
Fees and daily transaction limits are not published on the homepage
Online debit card portal handles purchases only
Pricing: Not published on homepage
Bitstop
Best for: Best for published state-by-state fees
Bitstop manages 3,000-plus locations across the United States and Canada, alongside more than 50 Gold ATMs. Bitstop publishes a fee page with fixed rates for several states. Machines show the total fee and exchange rate on screen before cash goes in.
Strengths
Published fixed fee tiers across several states
Over 3,000 locations across the US and Canada
Screen previews the exchange rate and fee before inserting cash
Limitations
Hardware pages describe buying only with no cash-out option listed
Exchange rates outside fixed states can sit up to 4% above market price
Pricing: 15% to 25% at most ATMs; 13% in California
Coinme
Best for: Best for cash-out and Coinstar kiosks
Coinme provides access to more than 40,000 physical points of service across 48 US states, using checkout counters, Coinstar machines, and ReadyCode ATMs. Cash purchases run through Coinstar kiosks and retail counters, while users can withdraw physical fiat at over 20,000 ReadyCode ATMs. Verification requires a one-time ID screening inside the app.
Strengths
Network of 6,000+ Coinstar kiosks and 20,000+ ReadyCode cash-out ATMs
Physical presence in 48 US states
Supports 11 cryptocurrencies including BTC, ETH, SOL, XRP, and USDC
Limitations
Not available in New York or Vermont
Exact ATM fee schedules and dollar purchase caps are not listed on-page
Pricing: Not published
Coinhub
Best for: Best for ID-based daily limits up to $50,000
Coinhub hosts more than 2,000 physical Bitcoin ATMs across 24 states, placing hardware inside gas stations, convenience stores, and neighborhood retail outlets. Each terminal sells Bitcoin, Ethereum, USDT, and USDC, allowing daily purchases up to $2,000 with SMS verification or up to $50,000 with a government-issued photo ID. The ATM service is described as buying only.
Strengths
Daily purchase volume up to $50,000 for photo-verified users
SMS verification tier provides rapid access up to $2,000 daily
Kiosks sell BTC, ETH, USDT, and USDC directly
Limitations
The ATM service is described as buying only
Base ATM fee percentages are not published online
Pricing: No ATM fee amount listed
Byte Federal
Best for: Best for wide state coverage
Byte Federal serves more than 42 states with physical crypto kiosks supporting a broad array of tokens, including Bitcoin, Lightning Network payments, and various altcoins. First-time buyers start with a cap of $300, which can scale up to $29,500 daily after identity verification. Terminal software displays the all-inclusive pricing structure prior to transaction confirmation.
Strengths
Presence across 42-plus US states
Support for Bitcoin Lightning Network transactions and altcoins
Verification unlocks daily purchase volumes up to $29,500
Limitations
Official kiosk pages describe buying only
Stablecoin transactions are restricted in Texas
Pricing: Varies by region; shown on kiosk
Localcoin
Best for: Best for Canada with buy and sell ATMs
Localcoin describes itself as Canada's largest Bitcoin ATM network, spanning more than 1,000 retail terminals with cash buying and selling options. Users can cash out crypto directly at designated sell-enabled ATMs or execute online sales paid out through INTERAC e-Transfer. Localcoin is registered with the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada (FINTRAC).
Strengths
Over 1,000 terminals across Canada with cash-out options
Digital cash-out alternative via INTERAC e-Transfer
FINTRAC-registered entity serving over 140,000 customers
Limitations
Network locations are restricted to Canada
Flat fee chart figures are not published directly within the main text
Pricing: Flat fee plus transaction fee in price
Summary comparison
| Option | Locations | Buy and sell | Fees | Daily limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FeaturedYour company here, pinned above every listing Get featured → | ||||
| CoinFlip | Over 5,500 ATMs | Buy and sell crypto with cash | Not published on homepage | Not published on homepage |
| Bitstop | 3000+ US and Canada locations | Buying only described | 15% to 25% at most ATMs; 13% in California | Not published; $10 minimum |
| Coinme | 6,000+ Coinstar kiosks, 20,000+ ReadyCode ATMs | Buy with cash; cash out at ReadyCode ATMs | Not published | Not published |
| Coinhub | 2,000+ ATMs in 24 states | ATM buying only; online exchange sells | No ATM fee amount listed | $2,000 with phone; $50,000 with photo ID |
| Byte Federal | Serves 42+ states | Buying cash for crypto described | Varies by region; shown on kiosk | $300 first transaction; up to $29,500 daily |
| Localcoin | 1,000+ ATMs across Canada | Buy and sell; online INTERAC e-Transfer sell | Flat fee plus transaction fee in price | $995 per transaction; $14,925 per day |
| Athena Bitcoin | Thousands of locations across 28 states; 3,000+ kiosks cited | Buying described; selling at kiosk not described | Not published; 10% off second purchase, 20% off sixth | Not published |
| RockItCoin | Over 2,500 ATMs (one section says over 2,000); 16,000+ retail locations | Buy and sell Bitcoin with cash at its ATMs | Not published; blog cites 7.5% for RockItCoin Go | Not published |
| Cash2Bitcoin | 800+ Bitcoin ATM locations, powered by Coinhub | Buying described; online debit card purchase offered | Not published | Up to $2,000 daily with phone; $50,000 with ID |
| BitcoinX | Not published | Buys and sells Bitcoin, Bitcoin Cash, Ethereum and Litecoin | Not published | Not published |
| Cryptobase | ATMs in 25 states listed | Buy with cash; a How To Sell page exists | Not published | Not published |
| CoinTime | Over 180 locations in California, Texas, Arizona and Illinois | Sells Bitcoin to customers; other coins planned | Not published | Not published |
Listed here? Update your listing.
Operator Choice by Network, Fees and Limits
No single company ranks as the undisputed best option for every crypto transaction. The choice between kiosk operators turns on local terminal proximity, whether you intend to liquidate digital assets for paper cash, and whether an operator publishes transaction charges ahead of time. Operators publish varied regional footprints. Coinme serves 48 states through checkout counters and Coinstar kiosks, while CoinFlip provides more than 5,500 physical kiosks. In Canada, Localcoin maintains over 1,000 domestic terminals. Bitstop posts specific state-level fee schedules online, including fixed rates in California, Iowa and Georgia. Transaction limits differ by operator. Coinhub allows verified users with government identification to purchase up to $50,000 per day across 24 states, whereas Byte Federal begins newcomers with an initial $300 transaction ceiling before unlocking tiers up to $29,500.
Buy-Only Kiosks Versus Buy-and-Sell
Physical kiosks differ in whether they support buying only or both buying and selling. The pages checked for Bitstop, Coinhub, and Byte Federal describe buying only. CoinFlip lists buy and sell crypto with cash at more than 5,500 ATMs. Localcoin supports cash liquidation at dedicated Canadian sell terminals, alongside an online cash-out system that distributes funds through INTERAC e-Transfer. Coinme handles withdrawals through an alternative model: consumers use their digital application to initiate an asset sale and subsequently pick up physical cash at more than 20,000 ReadyCode ATMs. Coinhub provides a separate online exchange interface that supports buying, selling, and trading across more than 100 cryptocurrencies, while its ATM service is described as buying only.
Published Fees and Limits Compared
Published rates remain subject to change. Bitstop outlines that purchases at most of its terminals cost between 15% and 25% in fees, though certain jurisdictions feature fixed percentages: 13% in California, 15% in Iowa, Maryland, and Oklahoma, and 18% in Georgia, Illinois, Kansas, and Nebraska. Bitstop stablecoins carry a 12% fee across most states, while its standard spot conversion rate can float up to 4% above market quotes. Localcoin charges a flat fee plus a transaction fee built into the listed coin price, and verified users pay zero fees on a first transaction. CoinFlip, Coinme, and Coinhub do not state base percentage fees on their primary homepages. Coinhub allows individuals to buy up to $2,000 per day by submitting a mobile number and verifying an SMS code, while providing a $50,000 daily maximum for users submitting government-issued photo ID. Byte Federal caps an initial transaction at $300, with a daily limit that can increase to $29,500 after registration. Localcoin caps verified users at $995 per transaction, $14,925 daily, and $100,000 annually.
Verification and ID Requirements
Identity verification requirements vary across Bitcoin ATM networks. CoinFlip lists FinCEN Money Services Business (MSB) and NMLS #1975146 registration numbers, though ID requirements are not stated on its homepage. Coinme requires that users be at least 18 years of age, completing a one-time identity check directly inside its mobile application before accessing physical kiosks. Coinhub lists purchases up to $2,000 per day with only a phone number and an SMS code. Coinhub lists $50,000 per day with a government-issued photo ID. Byte Federal requires a government-issued photo ID and a mobile phone. Localcoin lists FINTRAC registration and says verified-user limits apply with ID plus SMS verification.
The verdict
As of Oct 2026, Bitcoin ATM operators differ by network size, buy and sell options, fees, and limits. CoinFlip lists over 5,500 ATMs supporting cash buy and sell transactions. Bitstop publishes state-by-state fee schedules, including a 13% fixed rate in California. Coinhub lists daily limits up to $50,000 with photo ID, while Localcoin lists 1,000+ ATMs across Canada with buy and sell options.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best Bitcoin ATM operator?
There is no single best operator for every user. CoinFlip provides a large physical footprint with over 5,500 buy-and-sell ATMs, while Bitstop provides published state fee tables. Coinme lists 6,000+ Coinstar kiosks, and Coinhub provides high daily limits up to $50,000.
How much do Bitcoin ATMs charge?
Fees at Bitcoin ATMs vary by provider and location. Bitstop reports charges between 15% and 25% at most locations, with specific rates like 13% in California and 15% in Iowa. Byte Federal notes its kiosks show a rate that includes fees before confirming, while CoinFlip does not state fees on its homepage.
Can I sell Bitcoin at a Bitcoin ATM?
Some operators list selling and some describe buying only. CoinFlip supports buying and selling across its 5,500-plus ATMs, while Localcoin provides cash-out terminals in Canada. Coinme allows users to sell crypto in their app and withdraw physical currency at over 20,000 ReadyCode ATMs.
Do Bitcoin ATMs require ID?
The operators checked describe identity verification in tiers. Coinhub lists daily purchases up to $2,000 with a mobile phone number and SMS code, and up to $50,000 with a government-issued photo ID. Byte Federal, Coinme and Localcoin also describe identity checks.
What are the daily limits at a Bitcoin ATM?
Daily limits differ by the operator and your verification level. Coinhub sets daily caps at $2,000 with SMS verification and $50,000 with photo ID. Byte Federal starts first-time users at $300 before increasing limits up to $29,500, while Localcoin caps verified users in Canada at $14,925 per day.
Sources
- CoinFlip official site
- Bitstop official site
- Coinme official site
- Coinhub official site
- Byte Federal official site
- Localcoin official site
Related guides
Ready to get started?
Compare regulated exchange sign-up bonuses — they pay you and a referrer after a qualifying trade.