5 Best Bitcoin Node Hardware Devices in 2026
Compare plug-and-play Bitcoin node devices from Umbrel, Start9, MyNode, nodl and The Bitcoin Machines on hardware, Lightning support, and price.
Updated July 2026 · Reviewed by the PipeFlare team
A Bitcoin node device lets you run Bitcoin Core on dedicated hardware to verify every block yourself. Running your own box means you validate transactions directly. This page compares these devices on Bitcoin and Lightning support, hardware, price, and who each suits. Pre-built devices range from general home servers running modular app stores to dedicated Bitcoin-and-Lightning appliances and bare-metal kits.
Ready to set up your own dedicated Bitcoin hardware? Learn step-by-step how to configure and operate your node software.
Umbrel
Best for: Best general home server with an app store
Umbrel sells the Umbrel Home and Umbrel Pro personal servers running umbrelOS. The platform is managed entirely through a web browser at umbrel.local with no keyboard or monitor needed. Its built-in App Store lists over 300 apps, including Bitcoin Node and mempool, though Lightning is not listed as a built-in app on the Umbrel Home product page.
Strengths
Intel N150 quad-core processor with 16GB DDR5 RAM on Umbrel Home
umbrelOS web interface accessible via browser with no peripherals needed
App Store catalog with over 300 apps including Bitcoin Node and mempool
Limitations
Product pages list 'From' pricing with no dollar figure in page text
Lightning Network app is not listed on the Umbrel Home product page
Pricing: Product pages show 'From' pricing with no dollar figure in text; verify live
Start9
Best for: Best open-source personal server for self-hosting
Start9 sells the Server One personal server powered by an AMD Ryzen 5 6600H processor. The device runs StartOS, an open-source server operating system designed for self-hosted software installed from a marketplace. Every Server One purchase includes a lifetime membership to Start9 support, which the vendor lists as a $300 value.
Strengths
AMD Ryzen 5 6600H CPU with up to 32GB RAM and 4TB NVMe storage
StartOS operating system with complete source code published on GitHub
Lifetime membership to Start9 customer support included with purchase
Limitations
Price varies from $899 up to $1,399 depending on configuration
Does not include built-in WiFi, requiring a physical gigabit Ethernet cable
Pricing: Store collection lists from $899 to $1,399; verify live
MyNode
Best for: Best dedicated Bitcoin and Lightning appliance
MyNode sells Bitcoin and Lightning node devices. The Model Two features an Intel N100 processor, 16GB of RAM, and a 2TB NVMe SSD preloaded with MyNode Premium software. The order page lists 20+ premium apps, and the app list includes LND, Ride the Lightning, and BTCPay Server.
Strengths
Apps available include LND, Ride the Lightning and Thunderhub
Model Two includes Intel N100, 16GB RAM, and 2TB NVMe storage
Includes 1 year of Premium+ support with remote channel backup
Limitations
Model One relies on Raspberry Pi 4 hardware with external drive
Full feature set requires paid Premium or Premium+ software license
Pricing: Model One costs $399; Model Two is listed at $599 on sale ($649 regular)
nodl
Best for: Best for encrypted storage and a tamper Kill Switch
nodl sells nodl One Mark 2 and nodl Two, built to order one at a time, with encrypted SSD storage and a Kill Switch. The nodl Two includes up to 12 processor cores, up to 32GB LPDDR5 RAM, and dual mirrored 2TB encrypted SSDs. It features a Kill Switch that cuts power if the device is tampered with, requiring an encryption password at restart.
Strengths
Physical Kill Switch cuts power if tampered with and requires encryption password at restart
Dual 2TB SSDs running mirrored and encrypted on nodl Two
Runs Tor, Bitcoin Core, LND, Dojo Server and BTCPayServer
Limitations
Units are hand-built to order with 10 to 15 business days allowed for shipping
Priced in euros starting at 599 EUR plus tax without setup assistance
Pricing: nodl One Mk2 starts at 599 EUR + tax; nodl Two starts at 799 EUR + tax
The Bitcoin Machines
Best for: Best bare-metal hardware kit for custom software setups
The Bitcoin Machines offers an aluminum node unit that ships without an operating system installed.
Strengths
Aluminum enclosure available in five different colors
Includes integrated 1.8-inch display
Physical node hardware starting at $329
Limitations
Ships with no operating system, requiring manual software installation
Current order processing time is 30 days before international shipment
Pricing: Priced from $329 to $399 depending on SSD capacity (1TB or 2TB)
Summary comparison
| Option | Best for | Hardware | Lightning | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FeaturedYour company here, pinned above every listing Get featured → | ||||
| Umbrel | Home server apps | Intel N150 quad-core, 16GB RAM, up to 4TB SSD | Not listed on Home product page | Shows 'From' with no dollar figure |
| Start9 | Open-source server | AMD Ryzen 5 6600H, up to 32GB RAM, 4TB SSD | Installs services from marketplace | $899 to $1,399 depending on configuration |
| MyNode | Bitcoin & Lightning | Intel N100, 16GB RAM, 2TB NVMe SSD | Supported via LND, RTL, LNbits, and Thunderhub | $399 for Model One; $599 for Model Two |
| nodl | Tamper protection | Up to 12 cores, 32GB RAM, dual 2TB SSDs | Supported as a full Lightning node with LND | From 599 EUR to 999 EUR plus tax |
| The Bitcoin Machines | Bare-metal kit | Raspberry Pi 8GB, 1TB or 2TB SSD, aluminum case | Sold with no OS; Lightning not stated | $329 to $399 depending on SSD size |
| Solo Satoshi | Buyers wanting a US retailer for Start9 hardware | Start9 Server One with StartOS, 2026 model | Not stated on category page | $899 to $1,399 for the Server One |
| Ministry of Nodes | Australian buyers wanting a refurbished mini PC node | Refurbished Dell or Lenovo mini PC, Intel i5, 8GB RAM, 2TB SSD | Not suited to Lightning, per product page | $515 USD plus shipping; Australia only |
Listed here? Update your listing.
How to Choose a Bitcoin Node Device
There is no single best Bitcoin node device; the field splits into general home servers where Bitcoin is one app, Bitcoin-and-Lightning-first appliances, and bare-bones hardware sold without an operating system. Your choice depends on whether you plan to route Lightning Network payments, how much money you want to spend upfront, and whether you prefer an appliance dedicated strictly to Bitcoin. General home server appliances like Umbrel and Start9 treat Bitcoin Core as one piece of a wider set of self-hosted apps. In contrast, MyNode and nodl are sold as Bitcoin and Lightning node devices. Devices like the Umbrel Home feature an Intel N150 quad-core chip with 16GB of DDR5 RAM and NVMe SSD capacities ranging from 1TB to 4TB. The Umbrel Pro steps up to an 8-core Intel Core i3-N300 with four M.2 NVMe slots supporting up to 32TB of total storage with FailSafe RAID modes. Start9 powers its Server One with an AMD Ryzen 5 6600H processor, offering configurations with 16GB or 32GB of RAM and 2TB or 4TB NVMe drives. Units such as the MyNode Model One or The Bitcoin Machines rely on Raspberry Pi boards paired with external or SATA expansion storage drives. Cost structures also vary between bare hardware, home servers, and pre-built appliances. The Bitcoin Machines sells its aluminum Raspberry Pi kit without an operating system for $329 to $399. The MyNode Model Two sells for $599 on sale and includes one year of Premium+ support alongside its Intel N100 hardware. Start9 lists its Server One between $899 and $1,399, bundling a lifetime support membership valued at $300. Units from nodl range from 599 EUR to 999 EUR plus tax, incorporating encrypted SSD storage and a physical Kill Switch. Review each manufacturer's specifications to align your budget with your technical goals.
Plug-and-Play Device or Software on Your Own Hardware
Several major vendors also provide software editions for hardware you supply yourself. Umbrel, Start9, and MyNode all offer do-it-yourself software distributions alongside their physical appliances. Umbrel publishes umbrelOS for compatible personal hardware, with its underlying source code made available on GitHub. This allows you to set up the same browser-based dashboard used on the Umbrel Home and Umbrel Pro without buying the physical device. Start9 similarly offers a DIY installation path for StartOS, letting users run StartOS on their own hardware. MyNode takes a hybrid approach: it provides a free, open-source Community Edition supporting over 40 apps for custom setups, while selling a standalone MyNode Premium software license for $99. That license adds one-click upgrades, premium features, and premium support on your own hardware.
Other Sellers Worth Knowing
Two other sellers are worth knowing. In the United States, Solo Satoshi operates as Start9's first official domestic distributor, retailing the Start9 Server One with StartOS alongside other Bitcoin devices. Solo Satoshi lists the Server One from $899 to $1,399 with same-day shipping on orders placed before 12 PM CT. In Australia, Ministry of Nodes sells the Bitcoin Nodebox, an appliance that ships to Australia only. Priced at $515 USD plus shipping, the Bitcoin Nodebox is built from a refurbished Dell Optiplex or Lenovo ThinkCentre mini PC containing an Intel i5 processor, 8GB of RAM, and a new 2TB SATA SSD. It ships preloaded with Ubuntu Server 24.04 LTS, Bitcoin Core, electrs, and mempool.space, with the blockchain fully synchronized to the chain tip prior to dispatch. Ministry of Nodes accepts Bitcoin or Lightning as its sole payment methods, and its product page states that the device is not suited to be used as a Lightning Network node.
The verdict
There is no single best Bitcoin node hardware device for every user, because the ideal choice depends on your specific technical goals, budget, and interest in running the Lightning Network. Buyers who want a personal home server with self-hosted web applications can look at Umbrel or Start9. If your priority is a dedicated Bitcoin and Lightning appliance out of the box, the MyNode Model Two and nodl list Lightning software such as LND. Those seeking a bare-metal platform to load their own operating system can opt for The Bitcoin Machines. Hardware specifications, feature sets, and retail pricing change over time.
Frequently asked questions
Which pre-built devices support the Lightning Network?
MyNode and nodl list Lightning Network software. MyNode includes applications like LND, Lightning Terminal, Thunderhub, Ride the Lightning, and LNbits, with its Premium+ tier adding remote channel backup and a watchtower. The nodl Two is described as a full Bitcoin and Lightning Network node, and nodl units run LND and RTL. In contrast, the Umbrel Home product page does not list Lightning as a built-in app, Start9 installs software via its marketplace, and The Bitcoin Machines ships without an operating system.
How much does a pre-built Bitcoin node hardware device cost?
Pre-built node pricing varies from around $329 up to $1,399 depending on processing power, drive configuration, and bundled services. The Bitcoin Machines sells its bare-metal kit for $329 to $399. The MyNode Model Two sells for $599 on sale (regularly $649), while the Start9 Server One ranges from $899 to $1,399. Devices from nodl range from 599 EUR to 999 EUR plus tax depending on the model and support package.
Can I use my own hardware instead of buying a pre-built device?
Yes, Umbrel, Start9, and MyNode all offer software options that run on user-provided hardware. Umbrel lets you install umbrelOS on compatible systems using code published on GitHub. Start9 provides a DIY path to install StartOS on your own machine. MyNode offers a free, open-source Community Edition for personal hardware, as well as a $99 MyNode Premium software license that adds premium features and one-click upgrades.
What are the shipping times and international availability for these devices?
Availability and shipping speeds depend on the manufacturer and regional distributors. Umbrel offers free delivery within the United States for the Umbrel Home. The Bitcoin Machines lists a 30-day processing time with an estimated 5 to 7 days for international shipping, where buyers cover import duties. nodl hand-builds units to order and advises customers to allow 10 to 15 business days for shipping. Solo Satoshi provides same-day US shipping for the Start9 Server One on orders placed before 12 PM CT, while Ministry of Nodes ships exclusively within Australia.
What is the difference between Umbrel and Start9?
Both are general personal servers rather than Bitcoin-only appliances, but they use different operating systems and hardware. Umbrel runs umbrelOS on hardware like the Intel N150-powered Umbrel Home or the Intel Core i3-N300 Umbrel Pro, featuring an app store with over 300 applications. Start9 runs StartOS, whose source code is on GitHub, on its AMD Ryzen 5 6600H Server One, uses a software marketplace, and includes a lifetime customer support membership with hardware purchases.
What does The Bitcoin Machines node device ship without?
The Bitcoin Machines sells its node device without an operating system installed. The package includes an enclosure, a Raspberry Pi 8GB board, a SATA expansion board SSD, a heatsink, an official power supply, a 16 GB micro SD card, and a 1.8-inch display.
Sources
Related guides
Ready to get started?
Compare regulated exchange sign-up bonuses — they pay you and a referrer after a qualifying trade.