PipeFlare
Exchanges

Strike vs River: Which Bitcoin Platform Fits Your Buying Strategy?

Strike vs River compared on trading fees, custody, cash interest, and recurring buys. See which regulated US bitcoin platform fits your stacking strategy.

By Jonathan West · Updated July 2026

Deciding between Strike vs River comes down to whether you prioritize Lightning payments and global sends and tiered trading fees or cash interest paid in bitcoin or USD (3.50% APY as of 10/03/2026, subject to change) plus a published Proof of Reserves. Both serve US buyers who want to buy bitcoin. At PipeFlare, we built this comparison from each company's own published pages, so anything the pages do not state is marked as not published. Strike operates through Zap Solutions, Inc. to provide domestic and international payment tools, bill payments, and tiered purchase pricing starting at 0.89%. River Financial Inc. structures its service around wealth building, offering zero-fee recurring buys alongside cash balances that earn interest paid in bitcoin.

Evaluating Strike and River for your bitcoin strategy? Compare current offers and platform terms before moving your balance.

Compare exchange bonuses →

Strike vs River at a glance

DimensionStrikeRiver
Core focusBitcoin buying, selling, holding, and Lightning payments and global sendsWealth building, bitcoin buying, cash interest, and banking
Trading fees0.89% down to 0.25% based on monthly volume, plus roughly 0.22% target spreadNot published on homepage; lists zero fees on recurring buys
Cash interest yieldNot listed among the Strike products we checked3.50% annual percentage yield (APY) as of 10/03/2026, subject to change, on cash, paid in bitcoin or USD
USD cash custody bankCross River Bank, an FDIC-member bankLead Bank, an FDIC-member bank
Bitcoin custody modelCustodial; held in custody by StrikeFull-reserve custody with published Proof of Reserves
Recurring purchasesZero fees on recurring purchases after the first weekZero fees on recurring buys
Network capabilitiesLightning Network payments and flexible on-chain send optionsSend and receive; Lightning Network not listed on homepage
State availabilityAll 50 US states, Washington D.C., Puerto Rico, and 95+ countriesAvailable in select US states; not available in all states

Strike vs River Features and Products

Both are US bitcoin apps that hold your bitcoin in custody and keep USD at an FDIC-member bank; Strike lists Lightning payments, bill pay and global sends with a tiered 0.89% to 0.25% fee, while River lists zero-fee recurring buys, 3.50% interest on cash paid in bitcoin and Proof of Reserves, with no buy fee percentage published on its homepage. Operated by Zap Solutions, Inc., Strike supports holdings strictly categorized under Bitcoin and Cash, without listings for alternative cryptocurrencies or equities. Strike provides standard buy and sell options alongside target orders. Strike includes Bill Pay (limited to select states and territories), which allows users to pay everyday bills from cash or bitcoin balances. It also features Send Globally (limited to select states and territories), letting senders initiate cross-border transfers in local currency while recipients collect local funds. Strike integrates the Lightning Network for fast transfers described as costing fractions of a penny. Strike also lists business accounts and Private Client Services for orders over $1 million. Run by River Financial Inc., River positions its software to build wealth with bitcoin on one platform. Its primary products include buying and selling, banking services with zero fees, and dedicated send and receive tools. River highlights a headline feature delivering 3.50% annual percentage yield (as of 10/03/2026, subject to change) on cash balances. River pays this interest out in either bitcoin or US dollars. River also offers account tabs for Individual, Business, and Private Client users. River's homepage does not state whether it supports the Lightning Network, and it does not state whether its catalog is exclusively bitcoin.

Custody and Where Strike and River Hold Your USD

Strike states "Your bitcoin is held in custody by Strike." River describes "full-reserve custody for your bitcoin" and publishes Proof of Reserves. Proof of Reserves is not listed among Strike's products on the sources we checked. Strike's FAQ states "Your bitcoin is held in custody by Strike." River describes its storage infrastructure as full-reserve custody and publishes Proof of Reserves on its website. If you choose either platform, you rely on an intermediary to secure your coins. Fiat deposits on both platforms sit with regulated third-party banks rather than Strike or River. Strike partners with Cross River Bank, an FDIC-member financial institution that holds consumer US dollar balances. River deposits consumer cash at Lead Bank, also an FDIC member, insured up to $250,000 per River's disclosure. River notes in its official disclosures that FDIC coverage applies strictly to bank insolvency and does not protect against River's own platform failure, theft, or fraud. River confirms that bitcoin is not a deposit, is not insured by the FDIC, and may lose value. Zap Solutions, Inc. (doing business as Strike) holds a virtual currency business license issued by the New York State Department of Financial Services (NYDFS) under NMLS ID 1902919. Zap Solutions, Inc. also maintains money-transmission licenses in various other US states. Strike states it is available across all 50 US states, Washington D.C., Puerto Rico, and over 95 countries worldwide. River operates under NMLS ID 1906809 and specifies on its homepage that services are restricted to select jurisdictions and are not available in all US states.

Strike vs River Fees and Trading Costs

Strike uses a published tiered volume fee schedule, while River advertises zero-fee recurring purchases but does not disclose its standard spot trading fee on its homepage. Strike publishes a tiered fee schedule tied directly to a user's trailing monthly trading volume. Accounts trading under $5,000 per month pay a base fee of 0.89%. As trading volume climbs, the fee scales down: 0.79% for volume between $5,000 and $50,000; 0.69% between $50,000 and $500,000; 0.59% between $500,000 and $5,000,000; 0.39% between $5,000,000 and $15,000,000; and 0.25% for volume exceeding $15,000,000. On top of this tiered schedule, Strike targets an all-in execution spread of approximately 0.22%. To confirm their exact trading bracket, users can review Strike trading fees directly. Both platforms provide fee-free structures for automated dollar-cost averaging. River promotes zero fees on recurring buys directly on its main landing page. Strike provides zero-fee recurring buys for personal accounts after the plan has run for its first week. Strike also waives fees on direct-deposit conversions up to $20,000 per month. For recurring buys only, both apps list zero fees (Strike after the first week). River's homepage also says 'Fees may apply', so confirm at River. Strike's on-chain send fee depends on delivery speed. Strike provides a Flexible on-chain withdrawal option that batches and delays transaction broadcasts, charging zero on-chain send fees to the user. Users who require faster network confirmations on Strike can select Standard or Priority delivery speeds, which pass along an on-chain network fee. When transacting over the Lightning Network, Strike bills an estimated routing fee to match actual network expenses, alongside a 1% spread whenever an operation requires a currency conversion between bitcoin and US dollars. River advertises send and receive capabilities alongside zero-fee banking, but it lists no specific buy or sell percentage on its homepage, noting that fees may apply.

The verdict

River fits savers who want cash interest (3.50% APY as of 10/03/2026, subject to change) paid in bitcoin or USD and zero-fee recurring buys. Strike fits users who want Lightning payments, bill pay, global sends, and a tiered published fee schedule from 0.89% down to 0.25%. Strike is not for anyone wanting altcoins or stocks, as its FAQ lists Bitcoin and Cash only. River is not for anyone who needs a published buy/sell fee percentage or Lightning (neither is on its homepage), or a full list of eligible states (the homepage says only that River is not available in all states). This verdict would change if River publishes a fee schedule beating Strike's 0.89% tier or if Strike introduces cash interest. Check River's fees and state availability, Strike's fee tiers and Strike's availability before applying.

Frequently asked questions

Is River or Strike cheaper for buying bitcoin?

Not enough is published to rank them, as River's standard buy and sell fee is not on the sources checked. Strike publishes a tiered fee scale starting at 0.89% for monthly volumes under $5,000, tapering down to 0.25% for high-volume accounts, with an estimated 0.22% target spread. River advertises zero fees on recurring buys but does not state its standard spot buy or sell fee percentage on its homepage, noting that fees may apply. For recurring orders, both platforms waive trading fees, though Strike's personal accounts pay zero fee on recurring purchases after the first week.

Does River support the Lightning Network?

River does not list the Lightning Network on its public homepage. River outlines general send and receive capabilities alongside zero-fee banking features. In contrast, Strike highlights direct Lightning Network integration for instant payments costing fractions of a penny.

Who holds my bitcoin on Strike and River?

Both platforms use custodial storage models. Strike explicitly states in its help documentation that customer bitcoin is held in custody by Strike. River describes full-reserve custody and publishes Proof of Reserves.

Is my cash balance FDIC insured on Strike and River?

Cash deposits on both platforms are held at partner banks that maintain Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) membership. Strike keeps consumer cash balances at Cross River Bank (Strike's insurance coverage for cash is not stated on the sources checked), while River routes fiat deposits to Lead Bank insured up to $250,000 per River's disclosure. River notes that FDIC coverage does not protect against River's failure, nor does it protect against theft or fraud, and bitcoin is not insured by the FDIC.

Does Strike pay interest on cash or bitcoin balances?

Strike's product list on the sources checked (buy/sell/hold, Lending, Bill Pay, Lightning, Send Globally, business accounts, Private Client Services) does not include an interest feature. River offers an interest program paying 3.50% APY (as of 10/03/2026, subject to change) on cash balances. River users can choose to receive these yield payments in either US dollars or bitcoin.

Which platform is better for recurring bitcoin buys?

Both platforms offer zero-fee automated dollar-cost averaging. River states "Pay $0 in fees on recurring buys." Strike waives fees on recurring purchases for personal accounts starting after the initial week of execution, and it also waives fees on direct-deposit conversions up to $20,000 per month.

Sources

Related guides

Ready to get started?

Compare regulated exchange sign-up bonuses — they pay you and a referrer after a qualifying trade.

See bonuses →